Write. Write. Write. Blank. Write. Write. Blank again.

 

The history of where I have come as a writer. Hm… Should I start when my Grandma would force me to write in our diaries every night before bed? Well… I would tell her what to write and she would write it because my handwriting was so sloppy. Or was that her secret way of figuring out who my cute little crush was in kindergarden or who wasn’t on my nice list for that day. I’m really not sure. But what I do know is those were the days I will never forget. Because I feel once you write a memory on paper, its ultimately impossible to forget. I can tell you all about the trip I took to Washington when I was 8.. but if you were to ask me about what I did last week I really couldn’t tell you. The difference is, I wrote down my experiences in Washington.

In 5th grade I slightly became recognized for my writing skills. We were assigned a topic where we had to write about what we learned that year, and what I would take out of it when I go to m3157_1060692800664_1050129_n.jpgiddle school. The most well written paper got the chance to read it during the fifth grade graduation ceremony to all the students, parents, and teachers. THAT CHOSEN STUDENT WAS ME AYYYYEEE.
Actually was kinda scary reading to that many people to be honest. I remember I curled my hair for the first time and my cousin burnt my ear with the iron that morning. So not only was I focused on the extremely large crowd of eyeballs staring at me, I was focusing on my burnt ear as well. All went well, and that was a writing accomplishment I will never forget.

Yes thats me every body 


 

10390959_756425024398389_1513399519288965260_n.jpg

When we were awarded for being Editor-In-Chiefs

Later I entered high school and my best friend and I wanted a class together. So we joined yearbook because this girl came into our classes and said they had huge potlucks every week. NOT GUNNA LIE THAT SO GOT ME IN. But we joined and the first year I hated it…. until we went on a yearbook convention. I experienced something so surreal and life changing. I felt like the world all made sense because I actually found a passion for something; Journalism. That following year we were awarded to be Sports Editors. The next year after that, EDITOR-IN-CHEIFS. I actually accomplished something that seemed so far our of my league, but at the same time so right for me. I created a yearbook theme, managed an entire staff and editor team, and I literally published a 375 page book. I edited each and every page and I am extremely proud to say I made that book happen. Just figured I would add in that we were awarded best in show for that book… out of 6,000 schools. I ain’t bragging tho 😉

JTSzje7j.jpg

The book that I designed and created
But in the end, I know I am not the best writer in the world, I know there is so much more room for improvement, and truthfully thats what I plan to do within this course.

Thank you for reading.

images.jpeg

Leave a comment