12 Years in a Flash

KINDERGARDEN
I remember naming off my ABC’s every morning and every other Friday my mom would come in and volunteer with the class. She could grade everyones papers accept for mine. After recess we would each get two salted hard pretzels and we had to take the horrible 10 minute nap.

FIRST GRADE
Every morning, we would get free breakfast carted to our classrooms. I was apart of a low income school so we were grateful enough to get the nutrients we needed each day for free. Mrs. Michell was my teachers name. She was beautiful and always said how much she loved my creativity and unique ways on remembering things.

SECOND GRADE
Show in tell was always my favorite day of the week. I would always bring in my cool  live turtles each time I got to show off. This was the year when I started to pretend like I was a super neat and organized girl. I would carry germ-X around everywhere I went, and used the rolling back pack with multiple organized pockets.

THIRD GRADE
This was the year my mom broke both of her hands in a car accident. The most traumatic/ life changing moments in my childhood. My mom couldn’t work for months straight, she couldn’t drive, she couldnt cook me dinner, we couldnt play anymore, we couldn’t paint together. Thankfully, I had the best third grade teacher ever and my mom became close with her. Every morning they would pick me up and take me to school AND HOME.

FOURTH GRADE
Halfway into the school year I moved from Las Vegas to Henderson. Just a 30 minute drive difference. But that meant I left everything and everyone who I ever knew behind. Thankfully, my grandma would wake up early and take me to my school in Las Vegas so that I didn’t have to switch schools halfway into the year.

FIFTH GRADE
The beginning of this year I went from being put into special reading classes because I was below average, to being the best writer in the class and getting to speak in front of all of the teachers and parents at our fifth grade graduation.

SIXTH GRADE
MY FIRST YEAR AT THURMAN WHITE MIDDLE SCHOOL. I was a troubled kid, somehow always ended up in detention but I made some of my closest friends in there. We spent our lunch periods sneaking out of the cafeteria and breaking into the teachers classrooms to steal their candy. We got caught up real quick with that and I learned very soon that candy wasn’t worth the calories or the trouble.

SEVENTH GRADE
I was known for my bangs, I had the best hair in the whole school. I was finally allowed to wear makeup and was drop dead in love with Justin Bieber. I spent my days pretending to be a teacher to our imaginary class room with my best friend form across the street.

EIGHTH GRADE
This was the year I became boy crazy. I had my first real boy friend. Everyone was so obsessed with the new boy in school and I GOT HIM. But the catch was, I wasn’t allowed to date so my mom thought I had a boy best friend. Too bad it didn’t last long, and too bad my mom found out 🙂

FRESHMAN YEAR
Track and field was my favorite thing about this year. I wasn’t good at pole vaulting at all, but I loved the environment, I loved my team. Track season just had a smell and feeling that I loved. The sound of the gun shots gave me a feeling of adrenaline that isn’t so easy to explain to someone that has never done it before.

SOPHOMORE YEAR
My first year in yearbook, my first time going on a trip without my mom and it was to THE BEAUTIFUL SAN FRANCISCO. It was for a yearbook convention and this was the year that my passion for track became a whole lot less and my passion for yearbook grew as huge as it could get.

JUNIOR YEAR.
The year my grades went up, and also the year my friends became a whole lot less. Reality set in a whole lot this year that I needed to get my shit together and work hard for what I wanted. Life wasn’t boring though, it was a good year filled with many positive memories.

SENIOR YEAR
Within about 10 seconds I was already done with all 12 years of my schooling. It was graduation day, my yearbook class was awarding me for all my hard work for being an Editor-In-Chief, and I made my mom so proud. I was treated like a queen at prom by my high school sweetheart of 4 years. This was a beautiful year, my golden year.

 

Thank you for reading.

 tumblr_njrrptQ2b51qgaxwoo1_500.jpg

Leave a comment