Brain Power.

images.jpgWhat is intelligence anyway?

This reading was enjoyable for me because I could relate a lot to what the author was stating.

Although, I do love being at CSN, my goal after high school was to go to University of Reno for my Journalism degree. IT was my dream. During my Sophomore year, I was extremely sick and due to hospitalization; I had to miss an excessive amount of school. Unfortunately, that caused me to fail one of my classes and get low grades in two of them. That year messed my whole GPA up. It was hard to take the tests the teachers gave, because I didn’t have the “intelligence” to get the answers correct. I failed. And because of that year… everything and anything I ever wanted to do after that was penalized because of how my intelligence  looked on paper.

I took this quote out from the text because it reminded me of the story that I previously told

“Actually, though, don’t such scores simply mean that I am very good at answering the type of academic questions that are considered worthy of answers by people who make up the intelligence tests”

I wish I could say it but I actually am not good at answering questions on tests, I get test anxiety and freak out. It sucks that our “intelligence” is based on a test score.

If that weren’t the case, I would be at Reno right now. I would be able to take part in more activities. I would feel better about myself when it comes to my education.

The thing is I am intelligent in so many other things, why are we so judged upon a test score so greatly? Thats what I like the most about this class grading system. Its graded on how well we personally do. Its not about quizzes or tests. I love that.

Thank you for reading.

-JADE

Leave a comment