Education=Future

The Banking Concepts

I figured I would add my personal thoughts on the banking concepts of education below..

A. The teacher teachers and the students are taught
– the statement that I most agree with
B. The teacher knows everything and the students know nothing.
-If this were the case then all students would never know anything ever. Students do know SOMETHING. Yes, they may not know the knowledge that is about to be shown by the teacher but the statement about teachers knowing everything is so false. Teachers are experts in what they teach, but not in everything.
C. The teacher thinks and the students are thought about.
-When teachers prepare their lesson, they think greatly about how they can teach the students the most effectively.
D. The teacher talks and the students listen- meekly.
-I had to google the word meekly because I wanted to understand why the word had the pause and so much attention to it. Meekly according to dictionary.com means to be humbly patient. I do believe that the statement is true that the teacher talks and the students listen. But not all students listen and not all students listen patiently.
E. The teacher disciplines and the students are disciplined.
-Due to the large amount of rules in school yes students do get disciplined. In high school and middle school I was sent to the deans office or given detention. In college I feel that we are more on our own and not disciplined as much.
F. The teacher chooses and enforces his choice, and the students comply.
-For example, some teachers prefer their students do not chew gum in class or do not use their phones during class.
G. The teacher acts and the students have the illusion of acting through the action of the teacher.
-Depending on how the teacher acts, it can create a vibe with how the students will act around the teacher. I once had a teacher that didn’t really seem to care much about anything. That caused us to act out and not really care as much about the class
H. The teacher chooses the program content and the students (who were not consulted) adapt to it.
-Just like these blog posts. At first I was extremely confused with wordpress but soon I adapted very quickly to how the website worked.
I. The teacher confuses the authority of knowledge, with his or her own professional authority, which she and he sets in opposition to the freedom of the students.
-To be honest this one kind of confuses me. I think what it is saying is the teacher tests the students freedom because they have the authority to reign over it.
J. The teacher is the subject of the learning process, while the pupils are mere objects.
-I never really thought of myself as an objects while in school. I think of myself more as a tool for the future. The teacher works hard to make me knowledgeable for the future. I am not an object and no not agree with this statement at all.

images.jpeg

Leave a comment